Subscribe to Email Updates:

Enter your email address:

Three New ISS Crew Members Launch on Soyuz TMA-09M - update

Marcia S. Smith
Posted: 28-May-2013
Updated: 28-May-2013 10:24 PM

UPDATE, May 28, 10:20 pm ET:  Soyuz TMA-09M successfully docked with ISS about 10:10 pm ET, a few minutes ahead of schedule.

ORGINAL STORY, May 28, 4:35 pm ET: Three new International Space Station (ISS) crew members launched aboard their Soyuz TMA-09M spacecraft today from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.   Like the last ISS crew, they are using an expedited rendezvous profile and will dock with ISS later today rather than in two days as is typical.

NASA astronaut Karen Nyberg (@AstroKarenN), European Space Agency/Italian astronaut Luna Parmitano (@Astro_Luca) and Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin launched on schedule at 4:31 pm Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).   They are scheduled to dock tonight at 10:17 pm EDT, just under six hours after launch.  They will join the three ISS crew members already aboard -- NASA astronaut Chris Cassidy and Russian cosmonauts Pavel Vinogradov and Alexander Misurkin.

User Comments has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.